August 8, 2013

Spotlight on: Pretty When She Dies Series by Rhiannon Frater

Pretty When She Dies #1
Pretty When She Dies
by Rhiannon Frater
Published November 24th 2008

Purchase Links:

Amaliya wakes under the forest floor, disoriented, famished and confused. She digs out of the shallow grave and realizes she is hungry...

... in a new, horrific, unimaginable way...

Sating her great hunger, she discovers that she is now a vampire, the bloodthirsty creature of legend. She has no choice but to flee from her old life and travels across Texas. Her new hunger spurs her to leave a wake of death and blood behind her as she struggles with her new nature.

All the while, her creator is watching. He is ancient, he is powerful, and what's worse is that he's a necromancer. He has the power to force the dead to do his bidding. Amaliya realizes she is but a pawn in a twisted game, and her only hope for survival is to seek out one of her own kind.

But if Amaliya finds another vampire, will it mean her salvation... or her death?

Pretty When She Dies (Pretty When She Dies, #1)Pretty When She Dies by Rhiannon Frater

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really, really liked this book! It is the first book in a trilogy, and I have to say it is one of the better vampire novels that I have read in a long, long time. This book returns to the dark and ugly side of vampires, and focuses not so much on the pretty and glamorous side. Don't get me wrong - I'm as big a Twilight fan as anybody - but I think that a lot of people have forgotten that vampires aren't your best friend or the cute guy from next door that sparkles. They are hunters, and humans are the prey. And while a lot of vampires can tame the urge to kill enough that they can interact with humans, there is still always the possibility that a switch can flip in an instant and they will jump on you and kill in a heartbeat. That is what this book is like. It reminds you of the monstrosity that is vampire.

The synopsis above pretty much nails it on the head as far as what the book is about. I'm not gonna bore you with a blow by blow of what happens in the book. I'm just gonna say that I loved Amaliya. She awakens buried in a grave in the forest, and has no idea what is going on. She digs her way out and then stumbles back to her dorm room on her college campus and takes a shower and cleans herself up. Little flashbacks of being attacked by her Psychology professor keep popping up, but she doesn't really understand the full implications of what has happened to her until after she has slaughtered a dozen college students and sucked them dry. However, unlike most fledgling vampires, Amaliya is not blood crazed or out of control. Once she sates her initial hunger with the dozen students, she is able to more or less able control her blood lust and doesn't kill again unless it's intentional. What I loved most about her is that she is very self sufficient and smart. She doesn't need to rely on anyone. She's able to take care of herself - up to a point. She is a smart girl, and she realizes that she needs to find other of her kind so that they can teach her what she needs to know. Plus, the sadistic vampire that created her is taunting and stalking her, playing his own sick little game. So, she also needs to get away from him and figure out what to do.

Amaliya then makes her way to Austin (with a very humorous and touching stop in DeLeon to visit her cousin and Grandmother, who is amazing) and runs into Cian, the master vampire of Austin. This is where things really start to get interesting. Cian has a human girlfriend, and a centuries old human servant and companion, and has been trying his hardest to be a good person and live as much like a human as possible. However, when Amaliya shows up on his doorstep, she brings out a side of him that he has tried hard to suppress. But, once a vampire, always a vampire.

Once the Summoner (Amaliya's creator) catches up with her in Austin, things get serious, and seriously bloody. Amaliya discovers that she is not as powerless as she thinks, and is in fact a very desirable weapon that all vampires will covet to have by their sides. I think that this discovery sets up the next book in the series nicely. I loved how the book ended, and the resolution with the Summoner. I loved the scene where Amaliya's grandmother and cousin help her fight the Summoner. Her grandmother is hilarious, and is such a great character. I can picture her so clearly in my mind!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I can't really think of anything that I would have changed about it, or was disappointed in. It was a great read from start to finish. Can't wait to read the next two books in the series and see where things go from here.

View all my reviews

Pretty When She Dies #2
Pretty When She Kills
by Rhiannon Frater
Published September 5th 2012

Purchase Links:

Amaliya Vezorak never believed in happy endings…

When Amaliya harnessed her necromancer powers to defeat her greatest enemy, she believed she had finally found a happy ending with Cian, her lover and the master of Austin. That happiness is short-lived when the vampire ruling over San Antonio attempts a takeover of Austin in order to capture Amaliya and use her power for his own devices.

To make matters worse, Samantha, Cian’s ex-fiancée, is seeing ghosts, the untested vampire hunters of Austin are running scared as a supernatural war looms, a mysterious man is hunting Amaliya with the help of her one time lover, Pete, and Rachoń, the Summoner’s favorite progeny, appears to be out for revenge.

When Amaliya’s grandmother, a powerful medium, experiences terrible visions that reveal there is another necromancer vampire and she is crying out for help, Amaliya realizes happy endings do not come easily…

Pretty When She Dies #3
Pretty When She Destroys
by Rhiannon Frater
Publication date: August 27th 2013

Amaliya Vezorak always believed she was destined to live a failed life in obscurity until she was brutally murdered by an ancient vampire named The Summoner and reborn as a powerful vampire necromancer. Now it is up to her to save the world…

Rhiannon Frater is the award-winning author of the As the World Dies trilogy (The First Days, Fighting to Survive, Siege,) and the author of three other books: the vampire novels Pretty When She Dies and The Tale of the Vampire Bride and the young-adult zombie novel The Living Dead Boy and the Zombie Hunters. Inspired to independently produce her work from the urging of her fans, she published The First Days in late 2008 and quickly gathered a cult following. She won the Dead Letter Award back-to-back for both The First Days and Fighting to Survive, the former of which the Harrisburg Book Examiner called ‘one of the best zombie books of the decade.’ Rhiannon is currently represented by Hannah Gordon of the Foundry + Literary Media agency. You may contact her by sending an email to

Author Links:


Thank you so much for your comment! I read each and every one of them, I swear. :)

Imagination Designs